Emergency Agencies Develop Plan to Cover Areas Affected by Road Closures

Claremore, OK – On Monday afternoon an emergency meeting was called by the Rogers County Commissioners at the County Courthouse. Commissioners declared a State of Emergency in the County on the advice of District Attorney Gene Haynes. During the meeting emergency response agencies from Claremore, Verdigris, Northwest, Limestone, Catoosa, Tiawah, Tri District and Pafford developed temporary coverage and response routes to areas that were isolated by last Thursday’s closing of Keetonville Road and SH20 at Keetonville Hill. Jackie Custer of Oologah-Talala EMS and Matt Mueller from the City of Claremore also attended the meeting. Representatives from Owasso Fire/EMS were unable to attend the meeting.

HWY 20 Damage 20080410-7

SH 20 and Keetonville Hill

Limestone Fire will continue to be the primary emergency response agency to the remainder of its District including, with Verdigris Fire Department providing secondary response, the area south of the road closure on Keetonville Road.

Phillip Cherry of Pafford EMS said they will still cover most of the affected areas from various stations and that Owasso EMS will cover the area west of Ridge Road.

Rogers County E911 Coordinator Susie Rains said she would adjust 911 addresses to reflect any changes in primary responders.

On April 11th, Governor Brad Henry Declared a State of Emergency for Rogers County which will allow additional assistance from the State. Bob Anderson, Rogers County Emergency Manager, stated state officials will be out next week to assess the damage to the roadways.

Related Links:
Temporary Response Area Map
Governor Henry Declares State of Emergency in Wake of Storms
SH-20 / Keetonville Hill Detour Map


Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.